Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Charles Grant appointed to the EFL Board as the new League Two representative

8 June 2023

Crewe Alexandra is thrilled to share Club Chairman, Charles Grant, has been appointed onto the EFL Board as the new League Two representative.

Full EFL Statement:

Caroline Artis and Justine Roberts CBE have joined the EFL Board as Independent Non-Executive Directors.

Caroline was a partner in EY for 24 years, becoming London Office Managing Partner and a member of the UK and Ireland leadership team. She was also a member of the UK remuneration committee and the Next Generation partner assessment panel.

Since stepping down from her role in February, Caroline remains in an ambassadorial role at EY as well as holding two non-executive positions and trusteeships of three charities, where she draws upon her experience of working in the professional services sector to help on issues such as social equality, business development and governance.

Justine is the award-winning CEO of Mumsnet, which she founded in 2000 and is also the Senior Independent director on the Board of Admiral Insurance and a non-executive director of the Open Data Institute. She started her working life in the city, spending almost 10 years at SC Warburg and Deutsche Bank, before opting for a career change which saw her become a freelance sportswriter for The Times and The Telegraph. 

Appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2017 New Years Honours List for services to the economy, Justine has repeatedly been recognised as one of the fifty most inspirational women in the European technology sector.

Caroline said: “I’m delighted to be joining the Board of the EFL and at such an important time for the organisation.  I am looking forward to supporting my fellow Directors and the 72 Clubs through the many challenges and opportunities we will face in future.  The EFL means so much to so many people and I’m excited at the chance to be involved.”

Justine added: “I'm thrilled to be joining the board of the EFL. I've always been a huge supporter of football at all levels of the game, and I am equally passionate about the importance of communities to people's lives. So, it's super exciting to be working with an organisation which not only has football but community at its heart, and I look forward to doing what I can to help the EFL continue to thrive.”

Crewe Alexandra Chair, Charles Grant, has been appointed to the EFL Board as the new League Two representative after John Nixon’s departure following Carlisle United’s recent play-off victory against Stockport County and promotion to League One.  

Charles, a life-long Crewe fan, joined the Club’s Board in the summer of 2012 after a successful career in software engineering. He was appointed as Club Chair in 2021 and has been serving as an Alternate Director of the EFL and a member of the Commercial Committee since 2021. 

He said: “It is a real honour to have been appointed to the EFL Board. I hope, following over a decade of experience on the Board at Crewe Alexandra and recently as the League Two alternate, I can help build on fantastic work undertaken by John Nixon and provide a strong voice on behalf of all League Two Clubs.”

EFL Chair Rick Parry said: “I am delighted to welcome Caroline and Justine to the Board as Independent Non-Executive directors. Both have a real feel for the relevance of the EFL and have a deep understanding of the challenges facing the game. They have experience of working in complex stakeholder organisations, which I am sure will be hugely beneficial to myself, other members of the Board and all 72 member Clubs.

“In Charles we also have someone who is also hugely experienced and understands the League Two landscape. Given his recent role as Alternate Director for the division he is very much across all the issues and that will provide much needed consistency as we continue to navigate our way through some significant challenges and seek to achieve the reforms the game deserves.  I would also like to place on record my thanks, on behalf of the League for the important contribution John Nixon has made in his two spells as a Club representative on the Board.”

In addition, Rick Parry, who has been the EFL’s Chair since 2019, was re-elected for a further three-year term earlier today.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account