Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Checkatrade Trophy Draw Details

13 November 2018

If Crewe can get past Shrewsbury this evening then the draw for the Checkatrade Trophy knockout stages will take place on Talksport2 on Friday at 1pm.

The draw for Round Two of the Checkatrade Trophy will be made by two former winners of the competition, Leon Britton and Steve Claridge, live on TalkSPORT 2 on Friday 16 November.

David Prutton will oversee proceedings live from Checkatrade’s Lakeside site in Portsmouth from 1pm, with the draw also available to follow via @CheckatradeTrpy on Twitter.

Round One of the competition, featuring 64 Clubs competing within 16 groups, is now in its final stages with remaining matches still to play on 13 and 14 November.

In the northern section Rochdale are unbeaten to finish top of Group B whilst neighbours Oldham Athletic will also qualify in Group F.   Walsall and Port Vale are also guaranteed to qualify from Group E with just the battle of who will finish top to be decided when they face each other at the Bescot Stadium on Tuesday night. 

In the southern section Chelsea U21s are all but through to Round Two with only one game remaining between Newport County and Plymouth Argyle to determine if the Exiles or Swindon Town also qualify in Group C.  Two-time EFL Trophy runners-up Bristol Rovers and Exeter City are both safely through in Group D, with the pair facing each other this week to decide who secures top spot.  Checkatrade Trophy newcomers Arsenal U21s will progress from Group E, however, depending on results this week either Forest Green Rovers, Cheltenham Town or 2017 winners Coventry City will join them in the last 32.

Thirty-two Clubs are involved in Round Two of the competition with the draw split into Northern and Southern sections.  The winner of each group will be drawn at home and will play a runner-up of a group from the same region, but not from the same group they competed in from Round One. To ensure these conditions are met the Northern and Southern draws will be split into two separate draws – Draw A and Draw B.


Advertisement block