Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Bobby Moore Fair Play Award

22 January 2014

Alex receive the PFA Fair Play Award

Crewe Alexandra Football Club has won the PFA Bobby Moore Fair Play Trophy for their disciplinary record last season in League One. Crewe Alexandra has always prided themselves on fair play and respect towards the match officials and opposition players.

The former Queens Park Rangers midfielder Simon Barker of the PFA presented Chairman John Bowler with the Fair Play award and a cheque for £15,000 before our home match against Leyton Orient on Saturday.

The award, named after England's 1966 World Cup-winning captain, is presented every year by the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) to the club throughout the Premier League and three Football League divisions with the best disciplinary record.

The Fair Play Award was instigated by the PFA in 1988 to reward the club with the best disciplinary record, enabling the PFA to illuminate good behaviour and sportsmanship by its members on the field of play.

Earlier this season, Steve Davis received the FA’s Fair Play award from the Football Association’s Chairman Greg Dyke. Crewe also won that award but because of a different points system when it comes to yellow and red cards, we shared the honour with Graham Turner’s Shrewsbury Town.


Advertisement block