Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Powell Wins League Two Player Award

13 November 2012

Nick Powell wins League Two Award after displays for Crewe

The cream of north west football gathered in Manchester last night for the 2012 Northwest Football Awards to celebrate the achievements of clubs and individuals based in the region throughout the last 12 months.


  at The Point, Lancashire County Cricket Club and were hosted by BBC sports reporter Dan Walker, featured a whole of host of famous footballing names, including Patrick Vieira, David Moyes and Roberto Martinez.which took placeThe awards,


Following a memorable year for north west football, when clubs from the region have dominated the headlines, as both Manchester giants batted it out for the 2011/12 Premier League title, Liverpool won the League Cup and Everton continued to impress, there were plenty of highlights for the judging panel to consider.


North west football fans responded to online polls by voting in their thousands for their chosen Footballers of the Year, with Liverpool defender Martin Skrtel claiming the Premier League crown, Blackpool’s Alex Baptiste topping the pile in Championship, current Preston North End and former Tranmere Rovers starDavid Buchanan sealing the League One award and Manchester United’s Nick Powell winning the League Two accolade for his displays with Crewe Alexandra last season.


The Rising Star Award, which recognises the performances of the region’s best young footballers, went to Liverpool and England right-back Martin Kelly, whilst the Blue Square Conference Player of the Year gong was awarded to Stockport County’s Joe Connor.


Having guided Manchester City to their first top flight league title since 1968, in the most dramatic of end of season finales, Blues boss Roberto Mancini picked up the Manager of the Year Crown, holding off strong opposition from Everton’s David Moyes and Wigan Athletic’s Roberto Martinez. Steve Davis, was also nominated after guiding Crewe to promotion through the play-offs.


However, the Latics did have cause to celebrate with Chairman Dave Whelan being honoured for his considerable service to Wigan Athletic and the game in general with the Lifetime Achievement to Northwest Football Award.


Bolton Wanderers midfielder, Fabrice Muamba, presenting the newly named Fabrice Muamba Award for Medical & Sports Science Professional of the Year to Bolton Wanderers Head Physiotherapist, Andy Mitchell.amilies of the 96 men, women and children who tragically lost their lives in the Hillsborough disaster being recognised for their fight for justice over the last 23 years and formerThere were also two extremely poignant moments during the evening, which saw some of f


The awards also celebrated achievements across all areas of professional clubs – from the Premier League to the Blue Square Premier Division, including the best community initiatives, marketing campaigns and sponsorship engagement.


Special categories on the night also honoured the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Goal of the Year and an Unsung Hero Award. A full list of winners can be seen below.


For more information on the Northwest Football Awards


Advertisement block